Main
Main Page]-
Site Information]-
Forums]-
Simple Javascript Image Gallery]-
Javascript Image Scale Tool]-
MindaMusic.com Scam]-

I inquired about this posting on craigslist:
MindaMusic Store is based in Eustis,Fl. This online music store is 3 years old and is a family run business out of a residence. We are seeking full time and part time employees. Ebay and Amazon selling or buying experience is a plus. Website development experience is also a plus. Training is provided. Music knowledge is not necessary but is helpful. Business administration/ accounting and/or bookkeeping experience is a plus. Inventory mgmt/retail skills is a plus. If you have a good sense of humor, are self-motivated, organized, enjoy listening to music, and live by the golden rules then please send us your resume.

This position is available beginning December 28, 2009. Phone interviews will be conducted and professional references are required.


and got this information:
Dear Keith,
Thank you for your interest in working at MindaMusic Store.
Please go to MindaMusic.com and download the employment form at http://mindamusic.com/jobs.cfm?Sec=Y

Please fill out this form and mail to:
MindaMusic Store Employment Opportunities
1701 Queen Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27103

Please include:
1. 1 copy of your resume
2. 3 Professional References
3. MindaMusic Employment form
4. Cover letter expressing, “Why you would like to work at MindaMusic.”
5. Availability(Days and time) and if you prefer a part-time or full-time position

Please note this job begins Dec. 28, 2009.

Phone Interviews will be conducted once your information is received by mail.


What would YOU do?

So many things wrong with this to begin with:
1. Craigslist - aka Scamslist
2. Seemingly Auto-reply message that ignores every single question I asked.
3. Mailing the application and resume instead of filling it out online for a company based online.
4. Mailing the application to North Carolina when they're BASED in Florida.
5. Mailing personal information (name, SSN, address, phone #) to an entity that is clearly NOT the same entity which is supposed to be BASED in Florida.
6. Phone interviews when they're looking for applicants locally for a Florida BASED business.
7. No real job or position description, just a list of skills and experience that would be pluses.

To make matters worse, their website doesn't support the Florida based claim at all. A quick search for "MindaMusic" or "MindaMusic Store" brings up this site which links to these three sub-sites, and the store.

The three sub-sites all say the same thing:
Founded in 2000, MindaMusic is a learning center for music and the visual arts based in Winston-Salem, NC....etc.

The store's about page says nothing about Florida or being "3 years old":
MindaMusic is a private music school founded in 1996 in Winston-Salem, N.C.
MindaMusic Store began as a way to provide music scholarships for need-based students and fund other music services and musicians in our community.
...etc.

The store's contact us page lists a North Carolina address with a North Carolina phone number:
Minda Music Store * 1701 Queen Street * Winston-Salem, NC * Phone: 336.724.0404

I almost forgot the MindaMusArt page which is linked directly from mindamusic.com also North Carolina:
MindaMusArt.org
401 E. Fourth Street, Suite 509
Downtown Winston Salem, NC 27101
Phone/Fax: 336-725-6505
Email: info@mindamusic.com



Now for the fun stuff, the domain registry data.

mindamusic.com is registered to:
Gardner, Steve
steveandtracey@triad.rr.com
908 Shadowmere Court
Winston Salem, NC 27104
3363366590

North Carolina!
By the way, you entered the phone number wrong, I believe it should be 336-659-0508. Correct?
Or did you mean to put your cell-phone number? 336-391-6202

mindamusicstore.com is registered to:
Minda Music
1701 Queen St
Winston-Salem, NC 27103


The administrative contact listed as:
Minda Music
Minda Malibiran
1701 Queen St
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
(336)760-4606
(336)725-6505 [fax]
info@mindamusic.com

...North Carolina address and phone numbers again.

mindamusart.org is registered to a third party web developer RED Enterprises of NC, LLC and they are of course based in NORTH CAROLINA:
Red enterprises of NC, LLC
PO Box 820
China Grove, NC 28023
704.210.8706

bottom of every page.

The number one best way to avoid scams and identity theft is to confirm that all the pieces of the puzzle fit together. I'm sorry if your company is legit, but a Florida job with a North Carolina address and a phone interview, does not equal legitimate job opportunity anywhere in the world. It's been a pleasure to spend my free time investigating your company, and I'm sure someone will find interest in reading this. As for your employee needs, you will most likely end up with someone stupid enough to give your bank account information to any jackass that calls.

Have fun with that.

View/Add Comments
By MasterMind - 11/06/2009 at 3:18 AM
Firefox likes to take 100% width and force it onto a new line, and * width to mean take only as much as it needs. This text is in here to force FF to display 100% the same way that IE does. Ghetto fix FTW! OMG! a hidden counter! Views: 106